West Pokot county executive committee members have become the first county cabinet members to be sworn in across the nation.
In a ceremony held at the Governor’s office grounds, the new CECs comprising of ten, three ladies included, swore to uphold the constitution at all times in discharging their duties.
The county boss Prof John Lonyangapuo asked the CECs to discharge their duties diligently and work for the good of the people, urging them to uphold integrity. He categorically stated that his government will not entertain any form of corruption, maintaining that public resources ought to benefit the electorate.


“You are here today to be sworn in because the people of this county have accepted you as their leaders. They have shown respect and acceptance to the choices we have made and I thank them. Now, do not forget what brought you here,” said the governor.
Touching on the issue of the nurses’ strike, the governor once again reiterated that his government is still in talks with the nurses in an effort to end the there-month long strike. He however warned the nurses to refrain from politicizing the strike, pointing out that their grievances had been heard and a solution will be arrived at soon.

 Governor Prof Lonyangapuo addressing the audience during the occasion

Governor Prof Lonyangapuo also said that the work of building and rehabilitating roads around town and its outskirts is already underway, asking the residents to be patient as the county continues with its development agenda.
His deputy who doubles up as the CEC for Health & Sanitation Nicholas Atudonyang urged the CECs to be ready to get critiqued in the course of their work, stressing the voters are the bosses, and all leaders are accountable to them. “We have a direction as a county. We want this county to be recognized across the country for the right reasons. Let’s remain committed in our mandates,” said the deputy governor.
Representing the national government, the county commissioner Khalif Abdullahi urged all arms of government in the county to work together, emphasizing that the national government will continue to work closely with the county. He hailed the governor for his continued efforts in finding a resolution on the issue of insecurity along the borders with neighboring counties.
Among those present during the ceremony were the county assembly speaker Catherine Mukenyang, current and former MCAs led by the leader of majority Thomas Amutang’orok and county officers.

CEC'S pose for a group photo with the Governor

The new CECs who were vetted and approved by the members of county assembly are;
1). Health and Sanitation: Dr. Nicholas Owon Atudonyang
2). Finance and Economic Planning: - Francis Rutou Kitelauyan
3). Pastoral Economy, Agriculture and Irrigation:  Geoffrey Lipale Changwaran
4). Roads, Public Works, Transport and Infrastructure: Luka Chepelion
5). Education and Technical Training: Christine Apakoreng
6). Public Service, ICT and Devolved Units: Ruth Chepkoech Kisabit
7). Youth, Sports, Tourism, Gender and Social Services: Emily Chepoghisyo
8). Water, Environment and Natural Resources: Jackson Mnang'at Yaralima
9). Trade, Industrialization, Investment and Cooperative Development: Augustine Chemonges Loile Lotodo
10). Lands, Housing, Physical Planning and Urban Development: Joel Arumonyang