A model County in Service Delivery.

To Transform Livelihoods through Equitable and Sustainable Utilization of Resources 

County Overview
West Pokot County, whose Headquarters is Kapenguria, is mainly inhabited by Pokot community and minority community of Sengwer. The County is known for its rich cultural
heritage.Agriculture and livestock sector is the backbone of the county’s economy with more than 80% of the population engaging in farming and related activities. The County is a
member of the North Rift Economic Block .Other member Counties to this trading bloc are; Elgeyo Marakwet, Uasin Gishu, Nandi, Baringo, Turkana, Trans Nzoia and Samburu
Counties. The County is also a member of the Frontier Counties Development Council.The Council promotes cooperation, coordination and information sharing among member
Counties with a view of enhancing socioeconomic development and promoting peaceful coexistence. Other member counties to the council are; Mandera, Marsabit, Tana River,
Turkana, Lamu, Wajir, Garissa and Isiolo Counties.


Position and Size

West Pokot County is one of the 14 Counties in the Rift Valley region. It is situated in the North Rift along Kenya’s Western boundary with Uganda border. It borders Turkana County to the North and North East, Trans Nzoia County to the South, Elgeyo Marakwet County and Baringo County to the South East and East respectively. The County lies within Longitudes

34° 47’and 35° 49’ East and Latitude 1° and 2° North and covers an area of approximately 9,169.4 km2.


Physical and Topographic Features

The county is characterized by a variety of topographic features. On the northern and north eastern parts are the dry plains, with an altitude of less than 900 m above sea level. On the southeastern part are Cherangani Hills with an altitude of 3,370 m above sea level.

Landscapes associated with this range of altitude include spectacular escarpments of more than700 m. The high altitude areas have high agricultural potential while medium altitude areas lie between 1,500 m and 2,100 m above sea level and receive low rainfall in addition to being predominantly pastoral land. The low altitude areas include Alale, Kacheliba, Kongelai,

Masol and parts of Sigor. These areas are prone to soil erosion due to flash floods.


Ecological Conditions

The main forests in the county are found in Cherangani Hills. The gazetted forest, which

forms part of the Cherangani Hills in Lelan, covers an area of 20,857 ha. The un-gazetted forest covers 15,719 ha and consists of rain forests blocks scattered all over the county. These are natural forests dominated by tree species like cedar (Juniperous procera) and bamboo

(Aredinaria alpina). Plantation forests cover an area of 662 ha of which approximately 34 ha are indigenous and the rest exotic.

The main rivers in the county are Suam, Kerio, Weiwei and Muruny. Cherangani Hills are the main source of Muruny and Weiwei rivers, while Mt Elgon is the main source of river Suam.

River Muruny, Kerio and Weiwei drain northwards into Lake Turkana, while other small rivers join and drain into River Nzoia which in turn drains into Lake Victoria. River Suam

drains into Turkwel dam that generates hydro-electric power.


Climatic Conditions

The county has a bimodal type of rainfall. The long rains fall between April and August while the short rains fall between October and February. There is, however, great variation in the total amount and distribution of the rainfall received in the county. The lowlands receive 600 mm per annum while the highlands receive 1,600 mm per annum.

The county also experience great variations in temperature with the lowlands experiencing temperatures of up to 300 C and the highlands experiencing moderate temperatures of 150 C.

These high temperatures in the lowlands cause high evapo-transpiration which is unfavourable for crop production. The high altitude areas with moderate temperatures

experience high rainfall and low evapo-transpiration hence suitable for crop production.


Administrative sub divisions (Sub Counties, Wards, Villages)

West Pokot County has four constituencies, 20 wards, 16 divisions, 65 locations and 224 sub locations.

Political Units

The county has four constituencies namely: Kapenguria, Kacheliba, Sigor and Pokot South and a total of twenty county wards. Kapenguria and Kacheliba constituencies have six wards, while Sigor and Pokot South have four wards each.


County Symbols

County Court of Arms  County Flag